margiestroble wrote:So, if we turn off the Classic Calendar, and when members are logged into the Classic website and click to see the calendar, or the directory, it will go to the new calendar or directory automatically? That feature won't shut the whole Classic website off?
Correct. We did this early in 2011. About a month after we turned off the classic calendar, we turned off the membership directory, and a few weeks later, the classic leadership directory.
margiestroble wrote:If so, I totally misunderstood what that meant by shutting the Classic off. I have been waiting to shut it off until all of our ward website admins had gotten their 2012 entries into the new calendar before shutting it off.
We informed everyone that on a certain date (about a month in the future), we were going to turn off the classic calendar. We told them it was fine to use the classic calendar until then, but that they should have the new calender at LDS.org loaded for anything after the cutoff date we selected. On the announced date, we turned off the calendar portion of the classic site and any calendar request at the classic site redirected to the LDS.org calendar.
You can "turn off" pieces of the classic site independently: the calendar, the membership directory, and the leadership directory. When you "turn off" a portion of the classic site, it will redirect to the LDSAccount sign in page, and then to the part of LDS.org that replaces the classic piece the member was trying to access.