benjamincarleski wrote:So what changed between the old and new directory to make records that weren't showing up there start showing up here?
Instead of pulling information one-way for the old LUWS directory, the new directory now can also send information to MLS. For example, changing a phone number or an email address in the unit's directory at new.lds.org will also change it on the unit's MLS computer (usually after a few days for processing and Send/Recives).
benjamincarleski wrote:And how do we get members that have a death date stop showing up in the new directory?
1. In MLS nagivate to
Membership Records >
View and Update >
Death of Member, record the death date and transmit it to CHQ.
2. If that fails or is not possible, use MLS's
Special Request feature on the surviving spouse's or a surviving child's record to explain what needs to happen, and then do a Send/Recieve to transmit that request to CHQ.
3. If that fails, have the bishop call Local Unit Support.
Note: MLS information on deceased members also eventually feeds into new.familysearch.org. For example, when my father died a few years ago, his death showed up in new.familysearch.org 2 or 3 days after it was recorded in MLS. So if the person was a member, and a death date has been properly recorded in MLS, that deceased member should also be showing up in new.familysearch.org.
benjamincarleski wrote:Can you give me more information on which permission list is used for the new site, and how he can set it up correctly?
Sign in to
new.lds.org using your LDS Account username and password. Nagivate to the unit's directory. Click the
My Household link. Check/uncheck the
Show in Ward Directoyy boxes as desired. Click the
Save Changes button.
Only someone with an administrative calling (i.e. bishop, ward clerk) can adjust the privacy settings for households other than their own. If you choose to not display your information in the new.lds.org directory, those with appropriate leadership callings, (namely, the bishop) can still see your information in the unit's directory on new.lds.org even when others can't.
One reason that the privacy settings were not carried over from the old directory might be that there were too many new privacy settings to do a one-to-one transfer.