New Member
I'd like to request that users acknowledge that their message is for Church purposes only before sending a message via the Member Tools app. I've recently received a couple of emails from someone about business services they are offering. The message referenced that they were contacting me because they were in a certain Ward in my Stake and they even included a Venmo address to send money to for their services.
I suspected the message may have been someone spamming the Stake email address list, so I asked the sender where they got my email address. They replied that they were in my Stake and found my email in Member Tools. I was blind copied on the email, so I can only imagine how wide the distribution list the message was sent to. My guess is that it probably went to the majority of the Stake.
I'm familiar with the warning "By clicking Send Message, you agree that your message is for Church purposes only" that must be acknowledged before a message can be sent from the LCR page, as I have had to use that functionality as part of my calling. I was curious to see if there was any similar warning message in the Member Tools app, so I logged in and walked through that process. I got as far as I could without sending an actual message and didn't encounter any type of message stating that messaging should be for church use only. Ideally, I think this message should appear as soon as someone generates a list to contact in the app and should need to be acknowledged before a user can hit send.
I suspected the message may have been someone spamming the Stake email address list, so I asked the sender where they got my email address. They replied that they were in my Stake and found my email in Member Tools. I was blind copied on the email, so I can only imagine how wide the distribution list the message was sent to. My guess is that it probably went to the majority of the Stake.
I'm familiar with the warning "By clicking Send Message, you agree that your message is for Church purposes only" that must be acknowledged before a message can be sent from the LCR page, as I have had to use that functionality as part of my calling. I was curious to see if there was any similar warning message in the Member Tools app, so I logged in and walked through that process. I got as far as I could without sending an actual message and didn't encounter any type of message stating that messaging should be for church use only. Ideally, I think this message should appear as soon as someone generates a list to contact in the app and should need to be acknowledged before a user can hit send.