Calendar: Public vs. Private

6 postsstarted by justin.scott 1,880 viewsoriginal topic

New Member
#1
We accidentally switched a calendar from public to private, but the system does not have the option to change it back. I have full editor access to the calendar, so this is confusing. Please help!
Community Administrator
#2
You may need to find a ward/stake administrator to make the change.
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
New Member
#3
But I'm the Stake Clerk and have admin access. This is for a stake calendar.
Church Employee
#4
Because is very dangerous for privacy to move a calendar from private to public, we don't let you do that. Too many people have accidentally made private calendars public despite warnings. I'll check with development if anything can be done. Please open a ticket using the Feedback link in the bottom of the calendar.
Community Administrator
#5
The workaround may be to create a new public calendar and then move the events (via edit), one-by-one to the new calendar.

Using agenda view and just the old calendar turned on for display, it's probably workable. A bit tedious, but most likely something you can fix in under 15 minutes or so.
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
Church Employee
#6
We took a look if there was an easy way to make it back to public, but opted for russellhltn's approach.

One benefit. With 3.0, the new stake calendar will be in all their member's left-hand list with the eyeball on. With 2.0 when a ward or member moved into the stake, the stake calendars weren't even in their left-hand list (not subscribed). That was fixed with 3.0. Now when a member or a ward moves into a stake their stake calendars will automatically turn on for them. Another annoying problem was also fixed in 3.0. When a building was moved to another stake, the building was automatically disabled for scheduling, even with future events scheduled. That caused lots of confusion and calls. It won't do that anymore.

We do need to put in a warning when someone tries to do this (change from public to private) so they know they can't come back.