mevans wrote:Does anyone know when the sync cutoff is for the big rollout on June 12?
There is no specific cutoff. The best advice I can give you is to transmit immediately before and immediately after making any changes to callings or home and visiting teaching data.
Here is how things happen:
When MLS transmits, it checks for any changed data and transmits that information to Church headquarters.
Each stake and district has been assigned to a release group. For each release group, a process works through the wards and branches and processes the latest data sent from MLS to populate the home and visiting teaching data. It is possible that a ward could transmit just a few second before its data is converted and that data would make it into the import.
Once an entire release group is processed, there is some additional processing that happens and eventually all of the stakes, districts, wards, and branches in that release group are assigned to LCR 3. Part of that process generates configuration data that is sent to MLS to tell MLS to change to read-only mode for callings, organizations, and home and visiting teaching.
When MLS transmits and receives the configuration data telling it to change to read-only mode, it displays the popup message and changes its mode of operation.
If you are concerned about when data can be entered into MLS and not picked up for the conversion, here are the issues to worry about:
- Data that has been entered into MLS and not transmitted before the conversion process runs will not be converted. The best way to prevent this is to make sure that you transmit immediately after completing changes to calling or HT/VT data.
- Data that is entered after a ward has been converted to LCR 3 but before MLS goes into read-only mode will not be converted. The best way to prevent this is to make sure that you transmit immediately before making changes to calling or HT/VT data so that MLS receives the configuration information if it has been generated.
- There is a window between when data is converted and when the configuration information is generated that sets MLS to read-only mode. We have tried to minimize that and it is limited to a few hours in most cases.