greglebaron wrote:I notice that when a reoccurring event is updated or modified (entire series), a window pops up notifying the person that modifications to individual events would be lost. Can the program be modified so that doesn't happen? For example, if I have a reoccuring event for the primary room each week, but one week, I change it to occur in the RS room. Later, I want to change the whole series to start an hour earlier. Why does the room change need to be lost? Alternately, couldthe program be changed to identify the dates where individual changes were made and what the changes were?
This warning is a lot scarier than it needs to be -- and you did not quote it correctly in a very important detail. Note that it says "Important! If any of the events in this repeating series were previously edited separately from the rest of the original series - by any user - those edits
may be overwritten by this action" (emphasis added).
The fact is that very few edits get overwritten in this process. I don't know 100% what happens, but in my experience (which includes a lot of manual testing on this very topic), only changes that are in the same fields get overwritten. For example:
- If you have changed the location for one event in the series, and then you change the description or title for the series, that location change for the one event will still be in place.
- If you have deleted one or more events in the series, and then you change anything about the series, except for the repeating rule, the deleted events will still be deleted.
- But if you have changed the location for one event in the series, and then you change the location for the series, that location change for the one event will indeed be overwritten and now conform to the new location for the series.
In the example you gave, your room change for the one event will
not be lost.
Questions that can benefit the larger community should be asked in a public forum, not a private message.